Every household has a junk drawer. And, for most Google Drive users, they have two: My Drive and Shared with Me. Everything is in there. Today, let’s focus on how to clean up your Shared with Me.
Here are 4 tips about cleaning up your Shared with Me, followed by a GIF displaying them:
- If there are files you are 100% sure that don’t want, go ahead and delete them. You’ll still technically have access to them, but you won’t see them in your Shared with Me anymore (so good luck finding them). The original sharer will have no idea that you removed them and it won’t affect them (because you’re not the owner).
- You can click Add to Drive to move files from your Shared with Me to your own Drive, where you can then organize it.
- You can drag & drop files from the Shared with Me to anywhere in your Drive to organize them.
- Once you’ve moved files into your Drive, you can delete them from your Shared with Me and they will stay in the location that you put them.
Thou shalt make a copy. – Jake Miller
Ok, so, I never said that. Well, actually, I guess I just did. Anyhow, it’s a trick that’s known in most edtech circles, but it’s useful enough to make sure that everyone knows it:
Change the “/edit” or “/view” (or whatever) at the end of a Google Apps file’s URL to “/copy” and it will force the person clicking the link to make a copy of it (as if they had clicked File > Make a Copy).
Important: make sure the doc is shared, at least as “Can View,” prior to using this. You can’t copy a doc that you can’t view!
With the rise of Google Classroom and other LMS options, it’s not as useful as it used to be, but it has its use cases: sharing a resource on your website, posting forms for use in your school district, sharing optional activities for classes or clubs and much more. It works in Drawings, Sheets and Slides as well! Here’s how to do it:
Just in case, here are those steps:
- Share the doc as “Anyone with the Link Can View.”
- Copy the link to the doc.
- Change the “/edit” or “/view” or “/edit?usp=sharing” to “/copy”
Ever wish you could put the same file in each students’ folder without making copies? Have a project that belongs in your Science folder and your English Language Arts folder? Any time that you need a Google Drive file to be in multiple locations, use Shift+Z to open up the “Add To” option. The same file will be in each location – edit it in one location, it updates in the other. Awesome sauce.
Sometimes you know who you collaborated on a doc with, but just can’t come up with a search that leads you to that doc. Why not use their email address to track down the doc?
I discovered this search term when I was asked to track down all interactions between two specific students. This gave me the capability to see all docs on which they had communicated, provide them to our administrator and delete the docs from the student accounts.